BartaBangla Desk »

The governing council of Bangladesh Premier League (BPL), a franchise-based T20 cricket tournament, has decided not to allow the 2015-16 edition runner-up, Barisal Bulls, to take part in the fifth edition of the professional league this year.

The governing council made the decision as the franchise, Barisal Bulls, failed to abide by the rules and regulations related to financial affairs.

Seven teams will compete in the tournament this year, like the previous year, as a new franchise, Surma Sixers Sylhet, has been included.

Bangladesh’s pace sensation, Mustafizur Rahman, popularly called Fizz, was confirmed to take part in the tournament as ‘Icon Player’ of Barisal Bulls.

What will happen to him now?

BPL governing council member secretary Ismail Haider said, “Mustafiz will not play as an Icon Player. We have been considering whether we can include his name in the players’ draft.”

A few days ago, one of the owners of Barisal Bulls, MA Awal Chowdhury, passed an objectionable comment on Bangladesh’s test team captain, Mushfiqur Rahim.

The players’ draft is scheduled to take place on 16 September.

The fifth BPL tournament is likely to kick off on 2 November.

Share »

Leave A Reply