BartaBangla Desk »

MS Dhoni’s Chennai Super Kings have won the Indian Premier League (IPL) final 2018 beating the SunRisers Hyderabad at Wankhede Stadium on Sunday night by 8 wickets, reports NTV online.

Shane Watson’s match winning unbeaten century (117) helped Chennai to grab the trophy.

The IPL trophy has come back to its spiritual home, Chennai. The city’s franchise did run into rough waters but it still boasts the best IPL crowds and the most consistent team, which won its third title with a chase that was as much perfection as it was a tribute to their captain MS Dhoni’s philosophies.

Earlier, Kane Williamson (47) and Yusuf Pathan (45*) helped SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) post a competitive total of 178/6 against Chennai Super Kings (CSK) in the Indian Premier League (IPL) final at the Wankhede Stadium.

After being put into bat by Chennai captain MS Dhoni, SRH openers Shikhar Dhawan and Shreevats Goswami were off to a cautious start.

Goswami was trying to settle in but he was run out after a horrible mix up in the 2nd over itself and was dismissed for 5 runs.

Dhawan looked in fine touch for his 25 but a superb delivery by Ravindra Jadeja foxed the opener and he was clean bowled by him in the 9th over. Williamson continued to hit the balls after settling in.

He hits 5 fours and 2 sixes to give SRH some control of the game and forged a decent partnership with Shakib Al Hasan (23) in the middle overs. He was eventually dismissed for 47 runs in the 13th over.

Pathan played some ferocious shots laced with 4 fours and 2 sixes as he remained unbeaten on 45 runs off 25 balls. Carlos Brathwaite scored a quickfire 11-ball 21 runs in the end to help his team reach 178.

Lungi Ngidi yet again starred with the ball for Chennai returning with figures of 1/26 in his four overs.

Share »

Leave A Reply